Why was my question deleted 2

How can we help you?

You can either delete messages for yourself or request that they be deleted for everyone.

Delete messages for everyone

You have the option to delete certain messages that you have sent in an individual or group chat for all participants. This is especially useful if you accidentally posted a message in the wrong chat or if the message contains an error.

Messages that have been successfully deleted for all participants are replaced with the following text:

This message has been deleted.

To delete messages for everyone:

  1. Open WhatsApp and the chat in which you want to delete a message.
  2. Tap and hold the message. You can also mark several messages that you want to delete at the same time.
  3. Tap Clear > Delete for everyone.

Note:

  • In order for messages to be deleted successfully for everyone, you and the recipients must be using the latest version of WhatsApp.
  • Recipients using WhatsApp for iOS may still have media you sent on theirs photosalthough the message in WhatsApp chat was deleted.
  • Recipients may be able to see your message before it is deleted or if deletion was unsuccessful.
  • You will not be notified if the deletion was unsuccessful for everyone.
  • You can only receive your message up to about an hour after it has been sent Delete for everyone.

Delete messages for yourself

You can delete messages that you have sent or received from your phone. This does not change anything in the chats of the recipients of your messages. The recipients will still see these messages in their chat.

To delete messages for yourself:

  1. Open WhatsApp and the chat in which you want to delete a message.
  2. Tap and hold the message. You can also mark several messages that you want to delete at the same time.
  3. Tap Clear > Delete for me.

Additional Information:

Delete messages: iPhone | KaiOS

Clear chats: Android | iPhone